

May 22, 2014

Bulletin

www.osstfd2o.ca

905-332-1228

Ann MacDougall Presented OSSTF Service Award



Ann MacDougall, Iroquois Ridge, is this year's winner of the Bob Smith Award for outstanding service to District 20. Ann has been a Vice President, serves on the Collective Bargaining Committee and Joint Staffing Advisory Committee and is the long time Branch President of Iroquois Ridge. The award was presented at this year's Annual General Assembly. Congratulations Ann!



Annual General Assembly approves the 2014-2015 Budget.

Fraser Houston Wins Inclusive Educator Award



Fraser Houston, T.A. Blakelock High School, was awarded the Inclusive Educator Award for 2014 at the Annual General Assembly. This award is given to recognize and encourage those secondary educators who work to raise awareness, understanding, and appreciation of diversity, and to help eliminate bias, prejudice, stereotyping, discrimination and harassment in Halton schools.



Rob Gascho, OSSTF Executive Officer, and District 20 Executive Liaison, addressed the provincial election, the recall of the Provincial Assembly, and collective bargaining.

Trustees Host All-Candidates Meetings

- **Burlington:** Nelson High School, 4181 New Street May 27, 2014; Doors Open: 6:30 PM, Debate: 7:00 PM Moderated by: Ken Boichuk, Retired Nelson Teacher
- **Halton:** Hugh Foster Hall, 141 King Street, Milton May 26, 2014, Doors Open: 6:30 PM, Debate: 7:00 PM Moderated by: Ian Jones, Retired Milton Principal
- **Oakville:** White Oaks S.S., 1330 Montclair Dr. May 27, 2014; Doors Open: 6:30 PM, Debate: 7:00 PM Moderated by: Hamish Guthrie, White Oaks Teacher



OSSTF District 20 Teachers' Bargaining Unit had a full house at the 2014 Annual General Assembly.



OSSTF District 20 2014-2015 Teachers' Bargaining Unit Executive

The TBU Executive for 2014-2015 was elected at the Annual General Assembly: (from the left) Treasurer Kelly McCarthy, Educational Services Officer Janet Scott, Communications Coordinator Doug Thompson, President Brad Fisher, Vice-President Colin Post, and Vice-President Ann MacDougall.

President's Celebration Dinner

Holiday Inn Burlington
Hotel & Conference Centre
3063 South Service Rd. Burlington, Ontario

Tuesday June 10, 2014
Retirees, TBU Executive, TBU Council,
Chairs, Committee members, Award
Winners and their guests are invited.
RSVP to Lorie Wiersma by Tuesday June 3, 2014

OSSTF District 20 Teachers

3410 South Service Road, Burlington L7N 3T2 Phone: (905) 332-1228 Fax: (905) 335-9220

> Brad Fisher, President Jim Young, Chief Negotiator John Watson, Health and Benefits Officer Lorie Wiersma, Executive Assistant Michelle Neumann, Photographer

Facebook: OSSTF District 20 TBU
www.twitter.com/OSSTF20 www.osstfd20.ca